Champagne!

DSC00280We had friends down from Paris this weekend to toast the arrival of our bundle of joy, Marcel (who is almost two months old).  A friend suggested getting in a case of Champagne towards the end of my pregnancy so it was ready and chilled for visitors as soon as the baby arrived, I’m glad I did.

Halima

The French will find you more than one occasion to drink champagne in the year, a wedding, a holiday, and many a birthday will not go without (much to my delight!). My husband is from the Champagne region of France, and there they seem to triple the occasions to pop a cork. The nice thing about the Champagne region is that you don’t have to go with the big Champagne houses to get a nice bottle, we went with a small producer from my husband’s parent’s village for the Champagne pictured above and we were not disappointed.

DSC00271

DSC00283So Saturday was spent eating double chocolate cake and poppy seed short breads I found at our local bakers (yes, I know, not homemade but I have a new born remember?). We had such a nice weekend with friends, my batteries are all recharged for the week ahead!

Leave a Reply

