French cooking on Christmas Eve at my mum’s

Image

This is what Christmas Eve looks like at my mum’s in the north of France (above: my grandmother, my mum, and the crabs). The family has arrived and it’s all hands on deck in the kitchen! Often French families have a sea food platter the night before Christmas and food and drink goes on into the early hours.

As my family is Anglo-French, we like to mix up the cultures when cooking festive meals. This year my mum has reinvented the seafood platter into a Christmas Eve buffet with fresh crab and capers salad, scallops in Pernod and cream, bacon wrapped king prawn’s in sesame oil, and smoked salmon blinis, yum! Plus check out my great rub for all white meats.

Image

Crab is messy work.

Image

Image

Fresh crab, capers, hard-boiled quails eggs, fresh chives and creamy mayonnaise.

Image

Grilled scallops, Pernod (which will flambé if your pan is hot enough), and thick cream. 

Image

Meat rub. Fresh coriander, fresh garlic and grilled pine kernels.

Happy cooking all! Merry Christmas Eve!

Kirsty x

2 thoughts on “French cooking on Christmas Eve at my mum’s

Leave a Reply

